Jump to the main content block
:::

MCUT Research Center for Intelligent Medical Devices and CGMH Bone and Joint Research Center launch cooperative research venture

update date : 2020-07-21

Dr. Po-liang Lai, Chief Physician of the Bone and Joint Research Center at Chang Gung Memorial Hospital (CGMH), and his research team visited the Research Center for Intelligent Medical Devices at Ming Chi University of Technology (MCUT) in April, 2020. Dr. Lai’s research interests include bone implant materials, minimally invasive spinal surgery (MISS) and scoliosis correction techniques, etc. Several cooperative research topics have been agreed upon by both parties, including metal 3D printing of intervertebral discs and bone nails for fixation, as well as the biocompatibility of CMS coating on intervertebral discs and bone nails.

With the increase of human lifespan, population aging has become a noticeable issue in the world. Health problems like aging and pathological changes of spine are hence getting more and more serious. The bilateral cooperation between CGMH and MCUT is expected to push up the possibility of commercializing the products mentioned above. The visit was hosted by MCUT’s Dr. Kuo-yung Hung and Dr. Ping-yi Chen. They both introduced to Dr. Lai the laboratories, experimental facilities and research fields of the Research Center for Intelligent Medical Devices at MCUT. They also brought up the idea of using Ti-6Al-4V metallic powder to 3D print intervertebral discs and bone nails, hoping that the Bone and Joint Research Center would be able to help MCUT with the design of shape and size of intervertebral discs and bone nails.

The idea of using CMS sputtering on intervertebral discs and bone nails has all started from a CMS material which possesses better biocompatibility than HA, as developed by MCUT’s Research Center for Intelligent Medical Devices. It is therefore hoped that both sides will move on together in the future for the development and commercialization of intervertebral discs and bone nails, with an aim to solve the spine-related problems as caused by aging and at the same time to improve visibility for Formosa Plastics Group in the field of biomedicine.

Click Num:

跳到主要內容區

:::

明志科技大學智慧醫療研究中心與長庚醫院骨骼關節研究中心 合作啟動共同研究

最後更新日期 : 2020-07-21

長庚醫院骨骼關節研究中心賴伯亮主任醫師與團隊成員,於今年4月至明志科技大學智慧醫療研究中心進行參訪交流。賴伯亮主任醫師專攻骨植入材、微創脊椎手術以及脊椎側彎矯正技術等研究領域,藉由本次學術交流,雙方敲定多項共同研究之議題,如:金屬3D列印椎間盤與固定椎間盤用的骨釘及CMS玻璃濺鍍於椎間盤與骨釘之生物相容性探討。

人類壽命的延長,導致人口老化的現象益加明顯,脊椎老化及病變等問題也越來越嚴重,透過雙方專業領域交流,將增進商品化的可能性。本次由明志科大洪國永教授與陳炳宜副教授向賴伯亮主任醫師介紹智慧醫療研究中心的實驗空間、設備及研發領域,提出欲以Ti-6Al-4V的金屬粉末為材料,並使用3D列印椎間盤與骨釘的設計想法,希望長庚醫院骨骼關節研究中心共同協助椎間盤與骨釘造型及尺寸的設計。

由於智慧醫療研究中心發展出生物相容性優於HA的CMS玻璃,因此,提出以CMS玻璃濺鍍於椎間盤與骨釘上的想法,希望長庚醫院骨骼關節研究中心共同探討其可行性,進行椎間盤與骨釘的開發,使研發的項目商品化,解決因年齡增長造成脊椎相關的問題,提昇台塑企業在生醫相關領域的能見度。

明志科技大學智慧醫療研究中心網址: https://medical.mcut.edu.tw

英譯版本

MCUT Research Center for Intelligent Medical Devices and CGMH Bone and Joint Research Center launch cooperative research venture.

感謝語言中心提供英譯版本!

瀏覽數: